Saskatchewan is the middle of the three prairie provinces. The name of the province is derived from (fast flowing river) from the language of the Cree.


The province is characterized by boreal coniferous forests in the north, which turn into forest Tundra. In between, there are large lake landscapes. The largest lakes in the country are Lake Athabasca and Reindeer Lake. To the south pasture and arable land dominate. In agriculture, summer wheat, oats, rye and oilseeds and animal feed are grown. Added to this is meat cattle breeding.


Despite its agricultural use, the economy of the province today is heavily influenced by the oil and gas industry. In the north, there are also huge uranium deposits. McArthur River is currently the largest uranium mine in the world. However, the decline in uranium is also controversial in Canada because of the negative influences.


Grasslands National Park contains the last remnants of the original prairie populated by bison. Most members of the Cree Nation live in 602 First Nation Reserves.

Climatically, Saskatchewan is characterized by warm summers and very cold winters with temperatures of up to minus 45 degrees.


The largest city in Saskatchewan is Saskatoon with 222,190 inhabitants. The capital of the province is Regina. On 651,036 square kilometers, about one million people live.


The motto of the province of Saskatchewan is (strength of many peoples).


More up-to-date information is available at

Rate this post

Please follow and like us:

Be the first to comment on "Saskatchewan"

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.