Ontario is the most populated and, after Québec, Canada’s second largest in terms of area. Nunavut and the Northwest Territories are larger in the area but are not counted among the provinces.


Ontario borders Québec to the east, Manitoba to the west and Minnesota, Michigan, Ohio, Pennsylvania and New York to the south. The southern border is almost entirely lakes and rivers, from Lake Woods to the Great Lakes.


Ontario’s capital is Toronto. The city on Lake Ontario is also the largest city in Canada with 2.67 million inhabitants. Also in the province, on the border with Quebec, lies the capital Ottawa.


About 75 percent of the population of Ontario lives on the western edge of Lake Ontario. This is where fertile soils focus on agriculture with fruit and wine growing, industry and banking. The region is also called Golden Horseshoe, Golden Horseshoe.


Lake Ontario is also home to Lake Niagara, flowing from Lake Erie and only 57 kilometers long. It is famous for its falls in Niagara Falls, the Canadian and US sister cities.

Ontario is known for its abundance of water. The province has approximately 250,000 lakes and more than 100,000 kilometers of river. The province measures 1,076,395 square kilometers; in 2016, 13,982,984 people lived in Ontario.


Ontario’s motto is (She began loyally and will remain loyal).


More up-to-date information is available at www.ontario.ca

Rate this post

Please follow and like us:

Be the first to comment on "Ontario"

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.